manuel gūnther | tenor

Manuel Günther

graduated at the University of Music “Carl Maria von Weber” in Dresden where he studied with KS Thomas Thomaschke and Piotr Bednarski.

 

He was a member of the International Opera Studio at Staatsoper Hamburg where he had the opportunity to sing a wide range of his repertoire in main stage productions.

 

He was already invited as a guest soloist by renowned opera companies including the Staatsoper and Komische Oper Berlin, the Staatsoper Dresden, the Théatre des Champs Elysees Paris, the Grand Theatre de Genève, the Theater an der Wien, Polish National Opera (Teatr Wielki) Warsaw, Opera Vlaanderen Antwerp/Gent as well as the Salzburg Festival (Young Singers Project), the Glyndebourne Festival and the “Festival der Alten Musik“ Innsbruck.

 

His repertoire contains Tamino (The Magic Flute), Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), Il Conte d’Almaviva (Il Barbiere di Siviglia), Pedrillo (The Abduction From The Seraglio), Osman (Händels Almira), Baron Kronthal (Lortzings Der Wildschütz), Dancing Master, Brighella & Scaramuccio (Ariadne auf Naxos), Helmsman (The Flying Dutchman) and a numerous smaller roles.

 

He is also well-known for his concertrepertoire which ranges from Bachs “St. Matthews” and Händels “Messiah” until Haydns “The Creation” and Mendelssohns “Paulus” which he sung with conductors such as Alessandro de marchi, Cornelius Meister, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Ekkehard Klemm.

 

In 2012 he was awarded with two prices at the competition “Bundeswettbewerb Gesang” Berlin.

 

Upcoming engagements include Tamino at Polish National Opera Warsaw, Dancing Master (Ariadne auf Naxos) at Staatsoper Berlin and Bachs Christmas Oratorio at Staatsoper Hamburg.
2018 he will make his debut at the Musikverein Wien and Graz as well as the Brucknerhaus Linz.

 

With the season 2017/18 Manuel Günther became member of the ensemble at Staatsoper München.

manuel gūnther | tenor

Manuel Günther

studierte an der Hochschule für Musik „Carl Maria von Weber“ Dresden bei KS Thomas Thomaschke und Piotr Bednarski.

 

Er war Mitglied des Internationalen Opernstudios der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, wo er die Gelegenheit hatte, eine Vielzahl an Partien zu debütieren.

 

Der Tenor gastierte bereits an renommierten Opernhäusern wie der Staatsoper und der Komischen Oper Berlin, der Sächsischen Staatsoper Dresden, dem Théâtre des Champs Elysées Paris, dem Grand Théâtre de Genève, dem Theater an der Wien, dem Polnischen Nationaltheater (Teatr Wielki) Warschau , der Opera Vlaanderen Antwerpen/Gent sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen (Young Singers Project), dem Glyndebourne Festival und dem Festival der Alten Musik Innsbruck.

 

Dabei sang er ein breitgefächertes Repertoire, zu welchem Tamino (Die Zauberflöte), Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), Il Conte d’Almaviva (Il Barbiere di Siviglia), Pedrillo (Die Entführung aus dem Serail), Osman (Händels Almira), Baron Kronthal (Der Wildschütz), Tanzmeister, Brighella & Scaramuccio (Ariadne auf Naxos), Steuermann (Der fliegende Holländer) sowie viele kleinere Opernpartien zählen.

 

Ebenso ist Manuel Günther im Oratoriums- und Konzertbereich erfolgreich tätig und arbeitete hier mit Dirigenten wie Alessandro De Marchi, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Cornelius Meister und Ekkehard Klemm zusammen.

 

Bekannte Oratorien wie Mendelssohns „Paulus“, Händels „Messias“, Bachs „Matthäuspassion“ und „Weihnachtsoratorium“ sowie „Die Schöpfung“ von Josef Haydn gehören zu seinem festen Repertoire.

 

Manuel Günther ist zweifacher Preisträger beim 41. Bundeswettbewerb Gesang Berlin 2012.

 

Kommende Verpflichtungen führen den Tenor als Tamino an das Nationaltheater Warschau (Teatr Wielki/Opera Narodowa), als Tanzmeister (Ariadne auf Naxos) an die Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin und an die Hamburgische Staatsoper mit Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium.

 

Ab der Spielzeit 2017/18 wird Manuel Günther festes Ensemblemitglied der Bayerischen Staatsoper München.